Review: Southside With You

The “Southside” Part is Best

Southside with you

Watching Southside With You, I kept thinking, “Too soon!”

The film, which chronicles the courtship of a certain Barack Obama (Parker Sawyers) and Michelle Robinson (Tika Sumpter), has a lot going for it. I jived with the film’s energy, its celebration of black culture, its nod to Do the Right ThingĀ that made me reexamine my own interpretation of that film’s ending. I enjoyed how it emulates Richard Linklater’s BeforeĀ trilogy without parroting it outright, using the walk-and-talk narrative model to explore the idiosyncrasies of South Side Chicago. I liked the two lead actors, who deliver their lines with conviction even when the screenplay stumbles into sappiness or the musical cues feel miscalculated. Continue reading

